2008 Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz International Sax Competition

Kodak Theater
Los Angeles, CA

First Place: Jon Irabagon, Illinois
Second Place: Tim Green, Maryland
Third Place: Quamon Fowler, Texas

Jane Ira Bloom
Jimmy Heath
Greg Osby
David Sanchez
Wayne Shorter

The 2008 Competition featured the presentation of the Maria Fisher Founder’s Award to BB King. Paul Allen received the Herbie Hancock Humanitarian Award.

Composers Competition Winner: Sherisse Rogers, Pennsylvania

Photo (l-r): Jon Irabagon (1st place), Tim Green (2nd place) and Quamon Fowler (3rd place)