Institute of Jazz Performance graduates are leading lights in the jazz community who play an active role in shaping the present and future of the music. After completing the program, alumni are uniquely prepared to make important contributions on their chosen musical path, whether forging ahead as cutting-edge performers, composers and producers; serving as first-call session artists and touring bandmates; or becoming leaders in diverse fields including jazz education and music technology. See below for a complete listing of Institute of Jazz Performance alumni by class.

Thirteenth Class (2021-2023)
Class of 2023 Graduates: Emiliano Lasansky (bass), Art Baden (tenor saxophone), Javier Santiago (piano), Matthew Stubbs (clarinet), Darynn Dean (voice), Devin Daniels (alto saxophone), Julien Knowles (trumpet) and Benjamin Ring (drums).

Twelfth Class (2018-2020)
Class of 2020 Graduates: Emma Dayhuff (bass), Paul Cornish (piano), Aidan Lombard (trumpet), Lenard Simpson (alto saxophone), Chris Lewis (tenor saxophone), Roni Eytan (harmonica) and Malachi Whitson (drums).

Eleventh Class (2016-2018)
Class of 2018 Graduates: Anthony Fung (drums), Glenn Tucker (piano), Jon Hatamiya (trombone), Simon Moullier (vibraphone), Luca Alemanno (bass), Alex Hahn (alto saxophone) and Julio Maza (tenor saxophone).

Tenth Class (2014-2016)
Class of 2016 Graduates: Alex Boneham (bass), Michael Mayo (vocals), David Otis (alto saxophone), Carmen Staaf (piano), Daniel Rotem (tenor saxophone), Ido Meshulam (trombone) and Christian Euman (drums).

Ninth Class (2012 – 2014)
Class of 2014 Graduates: Miro Sprague (piano), Mike Cottone (trumpet), Eric Miller (trombone), Dave Robaire (bass), Jonathan Pinson (drums), Josh Johnson (alto saxophone) and Diego Urbano (vibraphone).

Eighth Class (2009 – 2011)
Class of 2011 Graduates: Godwin Louis (alto saxophone), Matt Marantz (tenor saxophone), Billy Buss (trumpet), Victor Gould (piano, seated), Nick Falk (drums), Hogyu Hwang (bass).

Seventh Class (2007 – 2009)
Class of 2009 Graduates: Jake Saslow (tenor saxophone), Gordon Au (trumpet), Colin Stranahan (drums), Vadim Neselovskyi (piano), David Mooney (guitar), Johnaye Kendrick (vocals) and Joe Johnson (bass).

Sixth Class (2005 – 2007)
Artistic Director Terence Blanchard (3rd from left) with Class of 2007 Graduates (l to r): Walter Smith III (tenor saxophone), Romain Collin (piano), Tim Green (alto saxophone), Chris Dingman (vibraphone), Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet, seated), Zach Harmon (drums) and Joe Sanders (bass).

Fifth Class (2003 – 2005)
Class of 2005 Graduates: James Alsanders (drums), Arpad Olah (piano, seated), Alan Hampton (bass), James Westfall (vibraphone), Gilad Ronen (tenor saxophone) and Dontae Winslow (trumpet).

Fourth Class (2001 – 2003)
Artistic Director Terence Blanchard with Class of 2003 Graduates: (front row, l to r): Nick Vayenas (trumpet/trombone), Yoon-Seung Cho (piano) (back row, l to r): Gretchen Parlato (vocals), Lionel Loueke (guitar), Massimo Biolcati (bass), Dayna Stephens (tenor saxophone) and Ferenc Nemeth (drums).

Third Class (1999 – 2001)
Class of 2001 Graduates: Danny Grissett (piano), Jason Goldman (saxophone), Rob Perkins (drums), and Bryan Lipps (trumpet).

Second Class (1997 – 1999)
Vice President and Mrs. Gore, Bill Cosby, and Clark Terry join 1999 Graduates (l. to r.) Wayne Escoffery (saxophone), Eli Degibri (saxophone), Richard Johnson (piano), Sebastiaan DeKrom (drums), Derek Nievergelt (bassist), and Michael McKenna (trumpet).

First Class (1995 – 1997)
(Standing l to r): 1997 Graduates: Jamal Haynes (trombone), Darren Barrett (trumpet), Helen Sung (piano), Sean Thomas (steel pan, percussion), Ofer Ganor (guitar), Keala Kaumeheiwa (bass), Ignaz Dinne (alto saxophone), (Seated l to r): Honorary degree recipients Lewis Lockwood, Senator Edward M. Kennedy, Aretha Franklin, Clark Terry.