2002 Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz International Saxophone Competition

Smithsonian Institution’s Baird Auditorium
Washington, DC

First Place: Seamus Blake, Canada
Second Place: John Ellis, North Carolina
Third Place: Marcus Strickland, Florida
Finalists: Aaron Fletcher, Louisiana, and Jaleel Shaw, Pennsylvania

Don Braden
George Coleman
Joshua Redman
Wayne Shorter
James Spaudling

The 2002 Competition featured the presentation of the Maria Fisher Founder’s Award to Wayne Shorter

Composers Competition Winner: Jim Robitaille, Massachusetts

Photo (l-r): Winners of the 2002 Competition; Jaleel Shaw, Marcus Strickland, John Ellis, Seamus Blake and Aaron Fletcher