Tickets now on sale for 2019 Guitar Competition Finals & All-Star Gala on Dec. 3 in Washington, D.C.

Tickets are now available for the 2019 Herbie Hancock Institute of Jazz International Guitar Competition Finals & All-Star Gala Concert, to take place on December 3 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

The competition is recognized as the most prestigious event of its kind in the jazz world, launching the careers of jazz sensations including Joshua Redman, Jane Monheit, Cécile McLorin Salvant, Tierney Sutton, Joey DeFrancesco, Chris Potter, Gretchen Parlato, Ambrose Akinmusire, Ben Williams, and many others. Formerly known as the Thelonious Monk Institute Competition, the 2019 Competition will feature the guitar and will be judged by an illustrious panel including Pat MethenyLee RitenourJohn ScofieldStanley JordanRussell Malone, and Chico Pinheiro. The Finals will feature three gifted young guitarists selected from more than a dozen semifinalists as they compete for over $150,000 in scholarships and prizes, including a guaranteed recording contract with Concord Music Group.

The evening will conclude with an All-Star Gala Concert and the presentation of the Institute’s esteemed Founder’s Award to renowned trumpeter and composer Terence Blanchard. The program will feature performances by Institute Chairman Herbie Hancock, NEA Jazz Master Dee Dee Bridgewater, and many more. John Beasley will serve as Musical Director.

Date: Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30 pm, no intermission
Tickets: Visit the Kennedy Center’s website

Tax-deductible Gala packages are available for purchase, with benefits including premium seating and reception access. All proceeds from the Gala Concert will support the Institute’s public school jazz education programs in Washington, DC and across the country.

The Competition Semifinals will take place the previous afternoon, beginning at noon on December 2 at the National Museum of the American Indian. Tickets to the Semifinals are free and will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis beginning at 11 am.